House Passes Democrats’ Bill to Codify Same-Sex ‘Marriage,’ Biden Expected to Sign, by Raymond Wolfe

Are U.S. Bishops Complicit in the Trafficking of Migrant Children? by Complicit Clergy
December 9, 2022
Gaudete: Rejoice! by Gayle Somers
December 9, 2022

Giddy Pelosi! Photo from Twitter: The Recount - @therecount - 258-169: House passes the Respect for Marriage Act, which would repeal the 1996 Defense of Marriage Act and codify federal recognition of states’ same-sex and interracial marriages... House Speaker Nancy Pelosi: “That was emotional.”

The pro-LGBT president has pledged to sign the legislation ‘promptly and proudly.’

By Raymond Wolfe, LifeSiteNews, Dec 8, 2022

(LifeSiteNews) — The U.S. House of Representatives on Thursday passed Democrats’ bill to codify same-sex “marriage,” sending it to Joe Biden’s desk for signature.

The bill, the “Respect for Marriage Act” (RMA), passed in a 258-169 vote, with 39 Republicans and all Democrats voting in favor.

The Senate approved the RMA last week in a vote of 61-36. Twelve Republican senators voted for it, even after the Senate rejected three amendments proposed by Republicans to blunt the the bill’s grave harm to religious liberty.

Biden has pledged to sign the legislation “promptly and proudly.”

The Republican members of Congress who voted for the RMA on Thursday include Rep. Elise Stefanik of New York, the chairwoman of the House Republican Conference, and Rep. Tom Emmer of Minnesota, the incoming GOP whip.

The other 37 Republicans are:

  • Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota

  • Don Bacon of Nebraska

  • Ken Calvert of California

  • Kat Cammack of Florida

  • Mike Carey of Ohio

  • Liz Cheney of Wyoming

  • John Curtis of Utah

  • Rodney Davis of Illinois

  • Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania

  • Mike Gallagher of Wisconsin

  • Andrew Garbarino of New York

  • Mike Garcia of California

  • Carlos Gimenez of Florida

  • Tony Gonzales of Texas

  • Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio

  • Jamie Herrera Beutler of Washington

  • Ashley Hinson of Iowa

  • Darrell Issa of California

  • Chris Jacobs of New York

  • David Joyce of Ohio

  • John Katko of New York

  • Nancy Mace of South Carolina

  • Nicole Malliotakis of New York

  • Peter Meijer of Michigan

  • Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa

  • Blake Moore of Utah

  • Dan Newhouse of Washington

  • Jay Obernolte of California

  • Tom Rice of South Carolina

  • Mike Simpson of Idaho

  • Bryan Steil of Wisconsin

  • Chris Stewart of Utah

  • Mike Turner of Ohio

  • Fred Upton of Michigan

  • David Valadao of California

  • Ann Wagner of Missouri

  • Michael Waltz of Florida

Four Republicans did not vote, including Reps. Lee Zeldin of New York and Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, both of whom previously voted in favor of the RMA. Republican Rep. Burgess Owens of Utah voted “present.” …