What Are the 4 Different Parts of the Mass? by Philip Kosloski

Are Americans Becoming Sovietized? by Victor Davis Hanson
May 6, 2021
Saint of the Day for May 6: Sts. Marian and James
May 6, 2021

Tom Robertson | Unsplash CC0

By Philip Kosloski, Aleteia, 05/05/21

Here are the four different parts of the Mass and what each part signifies.

In the Roman Rite of the Catholic Church, there are four different parts of the Mass. These parts each signify different spiritual truths and provide for us the ability to enter more deeply into the paschal mystery.

Introductory Rites

The first part of the Mass is focused on “preparation,” preparing our hearts to receive Jesus in the Word and the Eucharist.

It is a transition period, when we renounce our sins and turn towards the Lord with a renewed zeal.

This part consists of a few subsections. …

Continue reading >>>